Bristol City of Sanctuary Statement to Bristol mayor and council supporting the humanitarian commitment our mayor and council have taken to the Dubs Children

city of sanctuary
We have been deeply shocked that the Government has reneged on its commitment to the Dubs Agreement in which it promised to take in an expected 3,000 of the 88,000 refugee children who are alone and unsupervised in Europe and who have no means of survival. If the government does not reverse its decision, only 480 of these children will be given shelter in the UK.

It belies belief that a government can stand up and happily commit billions of pounds to weapons of destruction and yet not even agree to take in and shelter the most vulnerable human beings on our planet who have fled terror and continue to live in despair of anyone caring about them.

Consequently, we welcome the humanitarian response of our Mayor Marvin Rees and Bristol City Council who have continued to say that they are willing to take their quota of children and are pressing for the government to act.

As a City of Sanctuary, we are proud to stand up alongside our councillors and mayor and urge the government to change its mind and to provide funding for the children.


Rev Richard McKay, Chair of Bristol City of Sanctuary and Chair of Borderlands Charity
Forward Maisokwadzo, Media & Communications Officer, City of Sanctuary and South West Coordinator, Bristol City of Sanctuary
Caroline Beatty, Vice Chair of Bristol City of Sanctuary
Jo Benefield Bristol Defend the Asylum Seekers Campaign
Beth Wilson Director Bristol Refugee Rights
Nigel Costley Secretary South West Trades Union Congress
Professor Tariq Modood, University of Bristol
Rachael Bee Bristol Hospitality Network
Rob Wotherspoon Branch Secretary CWU Bristol & District
Mohammed Arif Community representative, Chair of Council of Bristol Mosques
Jo Benefield Bristol Defend the Asylum Seekers Campaign
Andrew McCarthy Volunteer Coordinator Bristol Refugee Rights
Ruth Soandro-Jones, Fundraising & Communications Manager, Bristol Refugee Rights
Mike Jempson Director, The MediaWise Trust
Eustace Tameh and Margaret Ulloa on behalf of St Nicholas of Tolentino RC Church
Holly Rooke, Co-President, Bristol Student Action for Refugees
Izzy Finlay, Co-President, Bristol Student Action for Refugees
Alex Raikes Stand Against Racist Incidents
Imogen Mcintosh Aid Box Community
Nejat Hussein Refugee Women f Bristol
Rissa Mohabir Producer/Writer In partnership with Refugee Women of Bristol
Alison Allan, Chair, Greater Bristol Alliance
Lauren Wroe Social Workers Without Borders.
Andrew May 'Volunteer Borderlands Refugee Centre, Bristol'
Kitty Odell ( volunteer at Bristol Refugee Rights)
Mary Todd Bristol Refugee Rights, VOICE project–volunteering for 7 years
Richard Annandale Calais Refugee Solidarity Bristol
Netty Miles from Help Refugees
Anna Wardell, Bristol City of Sanctuary
Claire Hancock, Occupational Therapist and Trustee of Cerebral Palsy Plus
Harriet Bradley (Cllr)
Deasy Bamford creative development Tribe Of Doris
Marian Connolly Volunteer Speedwell Refugee garden
Martin McCrea, formerly a child Clinical Psychologist
Joanne Baker, Child Victims of War.
Gaby Solly: Director, Streets Alive
Jane Collins, Musician
DMAC UK (Dance Music Arts Collective).
Katie Wake Co-Founder Supernatural Food
Annie Thomas
Judith Irene Brown
Jude Meek Social Worker 10 Tyne Street St Werburghs Bristol BS2 9UA
Ngaio Anyia
F. E. Wells
Emma Veitch
Celina Norris
David Abbott
Helen Crocker
Lizzie White, Bristol West CLP / Momentum
Jacky Sloane
Marylin Johnstone
Natalie Smith
Elizabeth Igoe
Sophy Gardner, Signing In Supporting Group & BDASC
Ric Brice
Judy Bec
Anna de Serville
Liz Rogers
Richard Lawrence
Marina van Vessem
Sophia Dutton
Ann Brook
Pauline Marshall
Karen Bruni
Barbara Needham
Liz Crow
Tam Johnson
Sue Smailes
Alison Campbell
Sarah Heath
Christine Campbell
Zuzana Pohloudkova
Becky Thompson
Aislinn Corcoran-Anthony
Fran Wardell
Jo Bloxham, Thinking People
Ann Kennard, Chair of Bristol-Hannover Council
Tom Daly, VOICE Community Engagement Manager, Bristol Refugee Rights
Ursula Monn
Lucy Hamid
Linda Ewles
Susan Plaister
Marian Liebmann
Sally Osborne, Mental Health Nurse
Flo Lipin
Joy Lambshead
Lynn Linsdale, Psychotherapist TFSW
Rob Wood
Barbara Needham, BDASC
Isabella Harding
Helen Struthers
Eleni Christopoulou
Reuben Irving
Rea Christopoulou-Irving
Sue Ingham, Secretary, Diocese of Clifton Justice and Peace Commission
Emily Abbott
Beryl De Stone, Advocacy and Asylum Support volunteer at Bristol Refugee Rights
Teresa Thornhill
Lucy Gilbert
Anna-Clare Hillier
Lucy Anning
Chris Cooper
Damaris Le Grand, Volunteer, Bristol Refugee Rights
Katherine Oliver
Martin Wallis
Linda Gates
Andrew Coates
Sadie Pearce
David Jessep
Jill White
Carole Gyorffy
Bill Roberts
Ian Scott
Katia Hornchen
Rene Hornchen
Adam Nieman
Sami Chugg
Gary Davies
Sally Stone
Mal Sainsbury
Mike Gates
Mike Campbell
Stuart Greaves
Nigel Troop
Amirah Cole
Fauduma Mohammed
Halimo Mohamud Roble
Sainuga Hasan
Faisa Mohamud
Alice Cunningham
Nick Smith
Carol Billinghurst
Una Macnamor
Matt Pike
Issy Young
Morgan Hendy

If you would like to add your name to this letter then please email us on